Agenda: 2009 National Highway Data Workshop and Conference (HiDaC)

Further info:

Tuesday, September 22, 2009

Tuesday Video AM pt.1 | Tuesday Video AM pt.2

Welcome and Keynote

11:00 am – 11:30 am : Eastern
10:00 am – 10:30 am : Central
09:00 am – 09:30 am : Mountain
08:00 am – 08:30 am : Pacific

Welcome:

Sara Chesebro, Emcee
California Department of Transportation
Travel Forecasting & Analysis
Keynote:
Coco Briseno
California Department of Transportation
Division of Transportation System Information

Highway Data Overview – Panel Session

11:30 am – 01:30 pm : Eastern
10:30 am – 12:30 pm : Central
09:30 am – 11:30 am : Mountain
08:30 am – 10:30 am : Pacific

What are the biggest challenges and/or the top priorities of your state's DOT for collecting and managing data and how are you pursuing these?

Rodney Floyd
(presenting remotely)
Manager, Highway Data Collection/Quality Control
Transportation Statistics Office
Florida Department of Transportation
Ron Vibbert
(presenting remotely)
Manager, Asset Management Section
Bureau of Transportation Planning
Michigan Department of Transportation
Rob Robinson
(presenting remotely)
Data Management Unit Chief
Illinois Department of Transportation<
Bill Cloud
(presenting remotely)
Chief, Data and Statistics Bureau
Montana Department of Transportation
Michael Fay
Supervisor, Highway Data Section
New York State Department of Transportation

HPMS Reassessment, Implementing Change

02:00 pm – 04:00 pm : Eastern
01:00 pm – 03:00 pm : Central
12:00 pm – 02:00 pm : Mountain
11:00 am – 01:00 pm : Pacific

HPMS since its inception in the early 80's, has been a vital program for FHWA. Much of the data reported in the system has a direct impact on funding, planning, performance measurement, and public accessibility to a vast amount of highway related data. This session will review the basic purpose and functionality of the HPMS with a focus on the upcoming HPMS 2010+ Reassessment.

Robert Rozycki
FHWA, Office of Highway Policy Information

HERS-ST using HPMS Data

04:00 pm – 04:30 pm : Eastern
03:00 pm – 03:30 pm : Central
02:00 pm – 02:30 pm : Mountain
01:00 pm – 01:30 pm : Pacific

A detailed breakout of a major use of HPMS data, the (Highway Economic Requirements System (HERS) model, will be presented within this session.

Chris Chang
FHWA, Office of Asset Management

Wednesday, September 23, 2009

Wednesday Video AM pt.1 | Wednesday Video AM pt.2

Use of the Web as a Tool to Display GIS Maps

11:00 am – 12:00 pm : Eastern
10:00 am – 11:00 am : Central
09:00 am – 10:00 am : Mountain
08:00 am – 09:00 am : Pacific

What has been occurring in the last few years is the further use of the web as a tool to display GIS maps, for instance, the use of Google maps that allow for displaying third party maps when they are geo-referenced. One in-house example is the street view feature Google maps provides and that is linked up with our GIS maps created for the Advanced Planning Department to quickly view locations in light of ADA requirements. Meanwhile, another example is the right-of-way information displayed via map-linking on Google Earth.

Chris Urkofsky
Right-of-Way Engineering & Surveys
Caltrans District 4
Dick Fahey
Office of Regional Planning
Caltrans District 4

The Pavement Management Program Used at the City/County Level

12:00 pm – 01:00 pm : Eastern
11:00 am – 12:00 pm : Central
10:00 am – 11:00 am : Mountain
09:00 am – 10:00 am : Pacific

This presentation focuses on how MTC uses StreetSaver in the region to track jurisdictions' performance in the area of preventive maintenance / pavement preservation, and how we use performance measures in the allocation of regional funding for local street and road maintenance. The presentation will give an overview of the software and how it is used as an asset management tool in our region.

Sui G. Tan
Regional Streets & Roads Program
Metropolitan Transportation Commission (MTC)
Theresa Romell
Regional Streets & Roads Program
Metropolitan Transportation Commission (MTC)

Measuring the Quality of Traffic Information

02:00 pm – 03:00 pm : Eastern
01:00 pm – 02:00 pm : Central
12:00 pm – 01:00 pm : Mountain
11:00 am – 12:00 pm : Pacific

While there are numerous data collection and estimation methods in use today, there are no broadly-accepted metrics to measure the quality of traffic information. The emergence of private providers of traffic information requires that agencies be able to verify and monitor the quality of data in order to procure it. This technical session will highlight work currently underway in both academia and industry groups to bring about clear and robust metrics and methodologies that allow agencies to evaluate and benchmark data services against their needs.

Len Konecny
Vice President, Business Development
Clear Channel Radio - Total Traffic Network
Chris Scofield
Principal Scientist
Inrix
Dr. Kristin Tufte, PhD
Research Assistant Professor
Portland State University

Mobile Millennium: GPS Mobile Phone as Traffic Sensors

03:00 pm – 04:30 pm : Eastern
02:00 pm – 03:30 pm : Central
01:00 pm – 02:30 pm : Mountain
12:00 pm – 01:30 pm : Pacific

A partnership between Caltrans, UC Berkeley, NAVTEQ and Nokia–with support from the federal Safe Trip-21 initiative–the Mobile Millennium pilot project intends to establish the modalities of traffic data collection from mainstream mobile GPS devices. With speakers from the California Center for Innovative Technology (CCIT) and the Nokia Research Center, this technical session will highlight key features of what constitutes an integrated research and development (R&D) program, including findings from the February 2008 Mobile Center field experiment, the design of the Mobile Millennium pilot, and what this all means for roadway operators. For more information, please see www.traffic.berkeley.edu/mobilecentury.html.

Alexandre Bayen
Assistant Professor, Civil and Environmental Engineering
UC Berkeley ITS California Center for Innovative Technology (CCIT)
Joe Butler
Mobile Millennium Project Manager
UC Berkeley ITS California Center for Innovative Technology (CCIT)

Tour of Caltrans District 4 TMC & MTC's 511.org Ops Center

02:00 pm – 03:30 pm : Pacific

(Presented to attendees only and it is not part of the web-cast)

This field trip will feature the real-time operations of the Caltrans District 4 Traffic Management Center (TMC) and its integration with the 511.org services provided by the Metropolitan Transportation Commission (MTC), which serves as the metropolitan planning organization (MPO) for the nine-county San Francisco Bay Area. The co-location of these two separate programs is a testament to successful inter-agency cooperation that benefits the traveling public. For more information on the Caltrans District 4 TMC, please see www.dot.ca.gov/dist4/realtime.htm. For more information on the advanced traveler information services provided by MTC's 511.org, please see traffic.511.org/traffic_map.asp.

Kane Wong
Traffic Operations
Caltrans District 4

Thursday, September 24, 2009

Thursday Video AM

Strategies and Challenges of Web-Based Applications in Highway Data Management

11:00 am – 12:00 pm : Eastern
10:00 am – 11:00 am : Central
09:00 am – 10:00 am : Mountain
08:00 am – 09:00 am : Pacific

This presentation will identify hits and misses in developing web-based applications. Successful examples will be reviewed and lessons learned will be discussed. Specific issues for GIS integration (e.g. Google maps) will be addressed. The technology trend will also be highlighted.

Ben Chen
Midwestern Software Solutions

Integrated Data System Structure for Active Traffic Management,Planning and Operations

12:00 pm – 01:00 pm : Eastern
11:00 am – 12:00 pm : Central
10:00 am – 11:00 am : Mountain
09:00 am – 10:00 am : Pacific

With the development of technologies and their market penetration, more and more data resources seem available for traffic planning and operating such as VII (Vehicle Infrastructure Integration including cell phone, Toll Plaza Transponder, etc.) and road sensors (loop detectors, microwave radar, lidar, video camera, etc.). Discussion about how to integrate the data sources on the common platform is underway in the intelligent transportation-systems community. On the other hand, it is necessary to look at what active traffic management strategies are feasible and are likely to be effective in other countries, such as those in Europe, and what is the minimum data requirement for implementing them. The session will address the following points:

  • Overall picture of near future Active Traffic Management System (ATMS)
  • Data system required to support ATMS
  • How to maximize the use of current traffic data systems in future development
  • Closely-related challenging issues

Dr. Xiao-Yun Lu
UC Berkeley ITS Partners for Advanced Transit and Highways (PATH)

Top of Page Top of Page